New bike? or persevere!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Midsrider

Hi all,

Im a newbie on here and getting back on the saddle after many many years away!

My 2 sons are bike mad after having new bikes for Christmas and I have finally got mine out (3 years old Bwtin and used around 4 times) and after riding my sons mountain bike, i actually prefer the feel of his bike!

My bike is the B-Twin rockrider 520 mountain bike, with hydraulic brakes and better spec than the 520 that is out now.
Mine at the time was the Medium model and slightly smaller than my sons bike which is a carrera vengeance 16".

I love on my sons bike that the handle bars are slightly higher and further away a little. i kind of feel a bit hunched up on mine, so this is making me move to another model.

Our cycling will be mainly around parks, footpaths and concrete pathways, but also a little on grass and canal footpaths - I do prefer a mountain bike, but something is bringing me towards a hybrid bike.

Here are some of the models I am looking at (budget is up to £500 or just over, I can get 10% halfords)

BTwin 540 and go for a bigger size LINK
BTwin Hybrid Riverside 500 LINK
Boardman MTX 8.6 (from halfords, but struggling to get a larger size) LINK
Voodoo Bizango LINK

Cheers all !

Ade

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
Why don't you try a longer stem and flip the bars or get a riser stem? Maybe take the bike to Decathlon and see what they have?

Note you've linked a BTWIN 540 (Not the 520?)

Last edited:
If you want something more road focused than your Rock Rider, but still want to do light trails and paths, the Riverside you linked to, is about spot on for what you want. Changing the stem, and / or flipping it, won’t help with the MTB gearing, frame geometry, wheel size etc of the Rock Rider. The Riverside is much more ‘road bike’ like. It’s essentially a 29er ( 29 inch wheels ) MTB, with road focussed gearing.

OP
OP
Midsrider

Midsrider