New Boardman Hybrid Pro - Major design flaw?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Teasy

I just bought a brand new Boardman Hybrid Pro from Halfords. I've got basic knowledge of bikes so have put it together myself (almost everything is already put together in the box anyway).

As soon as I sat on it I noticed a major issue, the crank actually touches the front wheel! I know about toe overlap but that's not what I mean here. I mean the crank itself hits the front wheel..

Like I said I'm far from an expert but I don't see what I could have done to cause this when putting it together, but it also seems amazing to me that this could be a design flaw in such a popular bike.

Am I missing something obvious? I've attached pics

Attachments

• IMG_20170901_113937.jpg
    IMG_20170901_113937.jpg
    198.7 KB · Views: 319
  • IMG_20170901_113948.jpg
    IMG_20170901_113948.jpg
    217.2 KB · Views: 225

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Hi Teasy and :welcome: to the site.

I'm afraid that yes, you have missed something: The fork is on back to front.

If you turn it round the other way all will be well and the wheel will be clear of the crank and the frame.:okay:

Globalti

Legendary Member
This has to be a wind-up, surely!

Once you do get that fork facing the right way, refit the skewer so that the QR lever is on the left of the bike and close the lever extremely tightly in a vertical position in front of the fork leg.

OP
OP
T

Teasy

Seriously?, the forks came installed like that so I'm not sure how to turn them? Do I need a certain tool for the hole at the front of the forks to be able to turn them?

EDIT: Haha obviously now I take the time to notice of course, was just panicking too much to see.

Last edited:
OP
OP
T

Teasy