New chain = new cassette as well usually??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bigtallfatbloke

The LBS say i need a new cassette as well as a chain...fair enough, I am not an expert, but the cassette looks fine to me and nothing is slipping...but it has gone a long way...so my question is...Is it common practice to automatically change the cassette at the same time as fitting a new chain or am I being fleeced again?....oh...and what about the three big front cogs??

i usually change just the chain every couple of thousand miles or so. everything works ok. eventually you do need a new cassette as well.
if i put a new chain on and it slips then that is the time i put a new cassette on.

Gerry Attrick said:
It's good practice, but not necessarily needed. A worn cassette will cream cracker a new chain in a few miles.

yes seconded. when i put a chain on i ride round the block using all the gears, if it slips then it's new cassette before any damage is done.
if the rings are getting a bit done at this time i put the old chain back on and run the lot into the ground before putting all new on.

yello

It's a school of thought to change cassette and chain at the same time. I tend to opt for a '2 chains per cassette' pit stop strategy but it really does depend on how worn things are looking. Hate to say it given what you've said about your LBS but I'd be inclined to trust them and go with it. It's not like it's a bad thing to have a new cassette!

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
Depending on how worn it is, depends if it needs changing. Get them to show you how worn it is if you dont trust them, or look on Sheldons page and do the measure thing.