New chain slipping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

colin-java

Regular
Hi, I have a cannondale trail 6 (24 speed).

The old chain got twisted (probably made worse from when it was took off and on again), so I put on a new KMC X8 - 99 chain today, I just started riding it, and its slipping in smaller rear cogs.

I've only done 800 mile on it though since I had it at the beginning of March this year.

What can I do? do I need to replace the cassette? arghh
Also, its making slight clicking noises still, I think that might be part of the problem too.

wisdom

Guru
Try indexing the gears first it could be the reason for the clicking noise and slipping gears youtube is your friend.How old is the csssette?

OP
OP
C

colin-java

Regular
Try indexing the gears first it could be the reason for the clicking noise and slipping gears youtube is your friend.How old is the csssette?
The gear changes are fine, and the clicking is quite a light noise, so I don't think its the gear setup, and I rather not mess with them.
The cassette is same age as the bike, had it in early march.

I'll point out one thing I've learnt.. if you've riveted a chain together, sometimes the 2 links where they are joined can be stiff.
This will cause the chain to jump on the cassette (and can also cause the chain to catch on itself and jam on the front cogs, causing death)

But like I said, the chain is brand new, and it uses the 'missing link' type link (the 2 L shaped halves that lock into place when you pull them),
and it seems to move fluidly where that link is.

I've done about 800 miles on it, I wouldn't have thought that would cause wear, but I could be wrong, its probably only a cheap cassette, and I can't see any other reason.
I am in the low rear cogs quite a lot though (22nd-24th gear).