New Garmin Edge 1000

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JtB

Prepare a way for the Lord
I've just purchased a Garmin Edge 1000 premium bundle which comes with speed, cadence and heart monitor sensors. I'm new to cycling SatNavs so this is a complete learning curve for me.

So far everything is going well and I've logged a few rides. Today I actually planed my first Course on Garmin Connect, uploaded it to my Edge 1000 and then rode the course with Turn-by-Turn instructions.

I've configured Garmin Connect to automatically upload my logged rides to Strava, so within a few minutes of finishing a ride it ends up logged both on Garmin Connect and Strava. The only thing I don't like is that the title of the ride on Strava contains a date in US format. Not sure if that's a Garmin or a Strava bug.

The Turn-by-Turn instructions seem to consist of an arrow pointing the way at every junction along with the name of the next road to take. I belive there's also supposed to be an alert just before every junction but I didn't hear anything. I'm a bit deaf so possibly the alerts are being sounded quietly and I just didn't hear them. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any volume setting.

I've not yet used the heart monitor as it's worn around the chest and I just want to confirm with my cardiologist that it's not going to interfere with my pacemaker. Not sure if there are any wrist worn monitors which are compatible with the Edge 1000.

All's looking good so far :-)

Tomtrumps

I've just bought one too and have been very happy, albeit found the navigation a little tricky to get used to first time round but easier once I got used to it. Didn't go for the gizmos but may get a cadence sensor. Not sure I dare see how fast my heart is beating!

The alert is just a beeb which on a windy day is not so easy to hear for anyone with decent hearing! And I find it annoying so turn it off (and I guess other cyclists would find it annoying too!)