New Roadie: Normal or Adverse Symptoms?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kelvin_C-J

Hi all,

I hate to admit to conform to the 'standard', but recently got my first road bike - the Triban 3.

Previously I have been riding a Carrera Subway Hybrid and a GT MTB, for a fair number of years.

I do not mean to be rash, but, was merely being curious if my experiences thus far with my '72 hour young' Triban 3 were considered 'normal' for new road bikers or something that may need looking into.

Namely, the issues I am having at present are:
1) Neck strain / pain after riding
2) Aching legs / calves
3) Wrist strain / pain

Now, being completely honest, I am not a 'newbie' to bike riding. I have been riding for about 14 years (perhaps not correctly!) but would like to think I do at least have some experience. I'm around 5' 7", and have the 51cm frame size, with the saddle at its lowest point. The saddle is exactly perpendicular to the frame.

I have not adjusted the handlebars, but do not feel that I am 'excessively' leaning down / forward, but must admit to feeling neck pain a lot - as if, perhaps, I am lifting / raising my head too much?

I hold on to the drops, and cannot say that I feel any wrist pain while riding, unlike neck and/or leg pain. But it is noticeable after riding.

I think, perhaps due to the pedals or pedal clips, I may be pedalling in a different way than I did on my mountain bike / hybrid and hence feel the discomfort as it is a 'new way' of pedalling?

I must admit, despite getting used to pedalling on my previous bikes fine, if I used my toe to pedal - I did feel the same kind of discomfort as I do with the Triban. However, I am not 'pushing' my feet through the clips, but must admit that: either something must be incorrect with my pedalling or, this is just something to get used to?

My apologies for the long post, but thank you for your time, advice and help.

PpPete

Legendary Member