Newbie info please: Pinnacle laterite 2 vs laterite 3

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

marofmtl

Hi all,

Extreme newbie here - never owned a road bike ! (would commute by mountain bike when I was younger and riding through Canadian potholes)...

I've narrowed down my choices to the Pinnacle laterite 2 vs laterite 3 and am turning to you to help me decide if the laterite 3 is worth the extra couple hundred quid.

https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle-laterite-2-2019-road-bike-EV299414 (£500)
https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle-laterite-3-2019-road-bike-EV299415 (£700)

The main difference is that the laterite 3 uses Shimano 105 5800 11 speed whereas the laterite 2 uses Shimano Sora R3000 9 speed.

Uses: commuting in London, with hopes to take it on longer rides outside of the city. I'll be moving to Geneva soon, where I'd use it for long rides (and hilly rides)... with the aim of trying out a triathlon next year.

In your opinion is the 105 set worth the extra £200 given how new I am to this? I'm thinking if I took both out on a long ride now I wouldn't notice a difference, but I would start to do so quickly.

Any opinion you guys have are very welcomed :smile:

vickster

Legendary Member
Test ride both. But yes, I’d say it’s worth it, smoother changes, lighter, better brakes maybe, more atttactive hoods. Would cost you more to upgrade later. But check the range of gears. Replacement parts would cost you more for 11 speed

Are you sure you don’t want disc brakes for all weather commuting?

Budget for better more puncture resistant tyres. Those won’t last 5 minutes if used in all weather on London roads

T4tomo

Guru
The 105 11 speed equipped one is well worth the extra, especially if you’re taking to the hills.