newbie that needs advice please help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bacon0339

so I'm new to cycling and as I've said in my bio i have always bought Walmart bikes i tried to get the best that i could but wanted a new bike this year and went there 3 times exchanging and returning bikes every time and I've wanted a giant bike forever so i finally did it and spent the 600 on a giant escape 2 city disc but i rode it around today after picking it up from the shop yesterday i rode about 5 miles thru town and idk if its b/c I'm used to all bikes have shocks on the fork b/c all Walmart bikes do but i found even bumps to be harsh on my forearms so i got on to the giant site after my ride today and found a roam 2 which has the shocks on the fork and the hydraulic brakes which i loved on the escape so I'm really just trying to see what everyone on here thinks ill do about 65% of my riding on sidewalks and the rest will be on trail like the great Allegheny pass near Pittsburgh and ohiopyle so any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks

Ps i know i shouldnt ride on sidewalks but I'm a large guy I've taken up riding to help me lose weight and i love to ride but i dont think i could ride on the road yet especially bc where i live ppl are crazy drivers

Can't say anything about the bikes, but relaxing your grip on the bars and using your elbows and knees as shock absorbers would certainly help with the discomfort. It will become second nature, honest. :smile:

si_c

Guru
Another comfort tip, don't pump the tires up to their maximum, lowering the pressure makes the tires deform over pavement imperfections. Suspension on a bicycle is of most use when riding seriously rough surfaces where you are dropping from one level to another. On light trails or road surfaces they will add very little. The bike you have looks like a great machine, and perfect for the sort of riding that you've described yourself as doing.