Newbie with an old bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rousey0193

Regular
Hello all,

As the title suggests I'm a complete novice to the world of cycling and vintage bikes, but I've been steered here by my dad who is very much into his classic bikes and was also a active on here (albeit not recently) and suggested I come in and introduce myself.

I recently purchased a 1954 Claud Butler Jubilee Special, which was in very good condition for the age and is all original, with pretty much all the components as they were when it left the factory!

I'm led to believe the £20 I paid for it was a bit of a bargain? To say I'm pleased with it is something of an understatement.

As the project currently stands, I require a 27x1 1/4 32 spoke and a 40 spoke rim (the originals are Dunlop Special Lightweights) a single GB Superhood brake lever (I'm missing one) and a dome nut to secure the rear brake to the frame (the brakes are GB Sports). Unfortunately I'm struggling finding spares and replacements so any help at all in locating the parts I need would be greatly appreciated! I'm located in the East Midlands, so if there are any shops or suppliers in the region that anyone knows of, that would be great!
IMG_20170204_101926.jpg
IMG_20170204_123755.jpg
IMG_20170204_123600.jpg
IMG_20170204_123837.jpg
IMG_20170204_124208.jpg

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it
Yup that was a bargain

OP
OP
Rousey0193

Rousey0193

Regular
Thanks guys :biggrin: The plans so far are to get it rideable again but keep it as original as possible as well. So just cleaning it up, replacing broken or missing things etc.

I've managed to find the original advert in the Claud Butler catalogue for that year and fortunately it lists pretty much everything it should have on it so I've got a good idea of what the original spec is and what I need to get for it! FB_IMG_1486321812725.jpg

scarygerbil

nice bike