'Novice' enquiries Re. the Vitus Alios

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DFyall

Evening all,

I am an entry-level newbie in the market for my first road bike. I appreciate many of you will have heard this type of question many a time before and apologise for the lack of originality on this occasion but as I've read elsewhere on the forum... got to start somewhere!

Have been doing my research over the last few weeks around the £300 price range and have been strongly drawn to the below Vitus which seems to be causing a stir as I've read nothing but raving reviews about excellent value for money:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=37907

Have a few novice questions that hopefully one or two of you can help me out on, before I bite the bullet:

1) No pedals in the pics and the spec. only states 'N/A'. Is it standard for a road bike to come without?
2) How many gears does this bike actually have? From the pics it looks like 3 x 7 (21) but I see no mention of this in the spec.?
3) My biggest concern and one which could be the limiting factor... I'm 6 ft. 2" and 13 stone. Will I fit on a 54 inch frame bike?!

Really appreciate any response.

aJohnson

1) Don't know, shoot the company a website about it.

2) I think it will be 21 gears or 27.

3) Sizing is a tough one, so I cant comment there.

EDIT: Oh yeah, welcome :tongue:

getfit

Hi DFyall,

Once you get past a certain price range (top price) pedals are not included as there is such a wide choice of clipless pedals and fittings that riders will either already have a set or buy a set to go with the shoes.

This bike has a triple up front and 9 gear cassette so 27 gears.

Sorry don't know the answer to number 3.

GF

PS, welcome to the site.

Hi

1) pedals don't normally come with a bike and the ones that do are crapola. Best to look at "clip-in" type pedals eg spd-sl

2) see above