Oh! My aching legs!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jeffrey4670

Regular
Hi, I am new to cycling and never owned a bike before. Being 57 years of age and never taken much exercise in the past, I'm finding my legs have never ached as much, over the past month! I have bought a Carrera Crossfire 3 bike from Halfords and have been using it to cycle to Leeds (around 15 miles) during the week, but still struggle to get up the smallest of hills. 15 miles takes me around an hour. How long should it take me to get fit! or is my age against me? Jeff , Wakefield, West Yorks.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Hi Jeff and :welcome:
15 mph for a "wise in years" ;) beginner cyclist seems to me more than adequate.
No doubt somebody with more knowledge in fitness matters will come along soon, but I think you are doing great.
Don't forget to enjoy your rides!
More speed, more climbing ability will come in time with practice - age no barrier.

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
15mph is faster than I manage on most rides and I've been cycling almost as long as I can remember.:blink:

I may have to take an instant dislike to you.;)

Seriously though :welcome:. You're doing pretty well for a complete beginner. Just enjoy the rides and general fitness will take care of itself.:thumbsup:

OP
OP
Jeffrey4670

Jeffrey4670

Regular
I find it frustrating when stood at traffic lights and the fellow cyclist by my side, sets off the same time as myself and I am left behind. Once I am up and running, he is out of sight. My other pet hates are pedestrians 4 wide on cycle paths and just won't move!

Globalti

Legendary Member
Yes, a decent average.