Patch bumped and didn't last

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bayke

Hello,

I'm fairly new to cycling. I have a foldable 20 inches bike and got a puncture.
I fixed the inner tube with a patch and it held 3 months while riding the bike almost every day.

Yesterday I found my back tire flat. I removed the inner tube and here how the tube looks like once inflated (I inflated it outside the tire and it became huge so I probably made things worse but I think the patch was already not in good shape).

My question is: what did I do wrong when I applied the patch? I deflated the inner tube, I cleaned the area and I applied a large amount of Godzilla glue and I put the patch. I waited 24 hours before riding the bike. As I said, it was holding fine, the inner tube never got looser within those 3 months (at least not to the point I could feel any issue). And just suddenly went totally flat overnight.

I can see some damage around the edges of the patch and it's "bumped".

I'd like to know what did I do wrong so that if it happens another time, I do it better.

Thanks,
Mike

img_3153_1713c30e2fc306f9a1b0e962e6abcf5d419c996e.jpg
img_3154_965c23d2d1424418f0f7a1379855c971bb96559c.jpg

Ajax Bay

Guru
:welcome:
Local bike shop and get a proper tube of puncture repair 'glue'. It is designed for rubber to rubber adhesion. Leave for 5 minutes after gluing before applying patch. And all the things above ^^^

Reactions: C R

raggydoll

Über Member
As above.

You can also get pre glued patches. (Some likes them and some don't)
I have some but have never had the need to use them so can't comment on how good they are.

I find with the little tubes of proper puncture repair glue the glue often goes hard once opened so is then useless when I go to use it again.

Anyone else find this or know how to stop it happening?
Buy more glue I'm thinking!?^_^

I didn't even know that "normal" glue would work AT ALL on tube patches - might be useful in an emergency :P