Personal symbolic gestures

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

yello

Today I stuck my ride diary on the fire. I've been keeping the diary since 2005, just to record notes on rides etc, nothing profound like life thoughts or anything. None-the-less, it did contain memories. Burning it was entirely symbolic, a desire to mark a change in direction. A kind of catharsis even.

My Garmin GPS might well follow. Not into the fire obviously, but to be disposed of in an environmentally friendly way. I just don't do that kind of riding anymore

I wondered if anyone else has ever done such a thing, be it cycling related or otherwise.

Edit: it's also an acknowledgement that we need to de-clutter if we are to move to a smaller place (as planned) in the foreseeable.... so there is a practical side to it too :laugh: 'Excess' bikes to go too (N-1) Bike gear too. Don't ask if there's anything available, postage and possibly duties would probably make it a non-starter ;)

Last edited:

SpokeyDokey

67, & my GP says I will officially be old at 70!
I got rid of all my suits, shirts and ties in one fell swoop when I quit the lucrative but ultimately life-consuming corporate rat-race in 2004.

My most radical symbolic gesture to date and one that marked a major lifestyle shift.

OP
OP
Y

yello

I got rid of all my suits, shirts and ties in one fell swoop when I quit the lucrative but ultimately life-consuming corporate rat-race in 2004.

:laugh:

You've reminded me; after we moved to France, I was gardening in old work (office) trou and shirts :laugh: but that was as much practical as symbolic! And after the fact. They didn't last long in that role however, quickly wore out. I think I still have one suit; for weddings, funerals and court appearances!

numbnuts

Legendary Member