php and SQL.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

r04DiE

300km a week through London on a road bike.
Hello all,

I dabble in web design and graphics design and I would really like to learn to make databases using SQL and php for the front end. Can anybody recommend me a book for learning this? I just want to start with a simple database, like a library list or address book or something and then move on to bigger and better things.

Thanks!

Last edited:

newfhouse

Resolutely on topic
I’ve knocked a few systems together over the last few years for various projects at work. I’m a hardware engineer really so as a coder I’m a self taught idiot rather than an expert. There are lots of good online resources including w3schools.com but I found the best way for me was to set up a LAMP server on an Ubuntu VM or a Pi and hack away. My code won’t win prizes, and much of it is plagiarised from online resources, but it does the job.

Sorry, not a book recommendation, but encouragement to just get stuck in.

OP
OP
r04DiE

r04DiE

I’ve knocked a few systems together over the last few years for various projects at work. I’m a hardware engineer really so as a coder I’m a self taught idiot rather than an expert. There are lots of good online resources including w3schools.com but I found the best way for me was to set up a LAMP server on an Ubuntu VM or a Pi and hack away. My code won’t win prizes, and much of it is plagiarised from online resources, but it does the job.

Sorry, not a book recommendation, but encouragement to just get stuck in.
OK, thanks for that - I have MySQL workbench set up on my Mac, which should be helpful and I also have a couple of NAS boxes here at home that I can run phpMyAdmin on. Maybe I should just start dabbling but i do like the structure that a book brings.

Do you have any experience with other programming/scripting languages and RDBMS? That will inform any recommendations.