Pinnacle Laterite 2 2018 Road Bike upgrades

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Probably wheels and then groupset but,,,,,

TBH I'd save a bit more cash and put it towards a better bike ;if the current parts are ok just ride it for now and look for something next year,especially any reduced models although sales of 2018 bikes have already begun. Local Rutland store was basically full of sale stuff,can't see how they are actually making any money:whistle:.

Milkfloat

An Peanut
I would only consider brake pads to try and get the Tektros useable and then after a thousand miles or so some decent tyres. The rest is fine unless you want mudguards for winter.

Drago

Legendary Member
Wheels, tyres....anyrhing more is starts to put you towards new bike pride territory and is unlikely to bring noteworthy performance gains.

OP
OP
Andrew.R.Webb

Andrew.R.Webb

Regular
I am leaning towards wheels for now and then a new bike in the next 18 months. I am new to cycling and want to give this bike a fair few miles before it becomes my turbo bike.
Any suggestions on comparable wheels?

cm2mackem

Über Member
If you're leaning towards wheels, buy some that are 9/10/11 speed compatible, Mavic or the like, then when you get your new bike you already have a spare set of wheels that will fit both bikes.

OP
OP
Andrew.R.Webb

Andrew.R.Webb

Regular
Depends. What specifically is wrong with the current set-up that makes you think you need upgrades? What do you hope to achieve with those upgrades? How much are you prepared to spend?
There isn't anything specfically wrong at the moment. Managing to hit some good averages with the group I ride with. Looking to trim weight off where I can and build a stock of parts for either a new frame in future or spares.

OP
OP
Andrew.R.Webb

Andrew.R.Webb

Regular