Pinnacle or Specialized?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nickysolar

I am a lady beginner and looking to purchase a hybrid type, some road work, some tracks/grass, so looking at the MB end of hybrid. Budget £650.
Having narrowed my choices to a Specialized crosstail hybrid (mens or womens) or similar from Pinnacle range, I went to Evans to try them out. Silly me didn't phone ahead and they didn't have the specialzed to try and the only mens was an XL. So the salesperson got me to try out a Pinnacle Cobalt 3 2018 womens. But with nothing else suitable (I asked) to compare I've come home none the wiser and somewhat confused as he also suggested trying the womens specialized cirrus disc that he could order in (I did say I was happy to try out a mens but he advised against that in favour of womens only. He said the pinnacle range was better value for money - better spec for less money.
Any thoughts?

Last edited:

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
I doubt you will ride very much on grass, it will be very hard work unless it's cut shorter than the Centre Court at Wimbledon.

Tracks are usually cinder or gravel for which any tyre with a shallow tread will do.

The Evans own brand Pinnacle bikes do tend to have good components for the price, although it's doubtful you would notice much difference in the riding experience compared to a Specialized.

Trying a few bikes is a good idea, but you won't really know how suitable a bike is until you've done a few miles and lived with the bike for a while.

There's always an element of getting used to what you buy, so all you can do is pick the one you like best from the test rides.

rivers

How far can I go?