Planning my first Century

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Matthew_T

"Young and Ex-whippet"
I have never done 100 miles before (longest was 80 on a club ride) so I was wondering if I needed anything special for the ride?

I would be setting off early and probably have the panniers on my nice bike. I would obviously take the typical tool kit/tubes/repair kit/etc plus a bit of food (stop for lunch somewhere).

The route would probably be from Prestatyn to Bangor then to Llanwrst then down to Denbigh. http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/long-ride-31
The first 30 miles are mainly NCN 5 but then jump onto the A5 for 25 miles, then fairly minor country roads home.

Do I need to take anything extra or plan my route better?

If you've done 80 you'll do 100 fine but what do you need panniers for?

I can't think of anything I use on a 100+ that I don't take for an 80-ish ride.

The significant difference between the 80 and the 100 as you describe them will be the solitude on your 100. There'll be nobody to tuck in behind for a bit of easy-peasy drafty-deluxe and nobody to chat to when it gets tiresome or dull.

For 100 miles, I use 2 bidons and a small Camelbak. Take a little change so you can buy water or similar if it gets hot. Riding the last 20 miles dry on a hot day is unpleasant.

Make sure everything is in super-doop condition and do the check-over a day or so before the ride. Don't wait until the moment you're leaving to find a loose spoke, a crunchy gearchange or a suspicious sidewall on your tyre.

Vaseline or Sudocrem are not a bad idea.

However much food (fig rolls or similar) you take for an 80, plus a few. No panniers for that distance. Back pockets are HUUUGE!

Have a good ride!

gavroche

Getting old but not past it