Please help an old man whose struggling.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi All,

You may not agree with my motives for cycling, but being recently bereaved I felt I had to have a goal to work towards. I settled on the idea of getting a motorbike license, which I have never had because my late wife, being more sensible than I, was against it. OK, so what am I, at 83, doing on a cycling forum? The answer is that my motorbike instructor effectively told me ".. go and log 10 hours on a pedal cycle to try to restore your sense of balance, then come back to me." I've done nearly 3 hours so far.

Of course I used to cycle when at school, every kid did in those days, and carried on for a while when I was an apprentice until I discovered cars. They became my life from thereon in and I rallied and raced for most of my married life. For my 70th birthday my wife bought me a Barracuda "old style" road racer (horizontal crossbar), which I happily used for quite a few years. Then I sold it, thinking I would probably never get on a bike again.

However, when told so to do, I purchased for £40 an old "Rhino FS-AL nitrate" mountain bike, well that's what it says on the frame. I've done a bit of fettling, road tyres, a more comfortable saddle on a Ritchey seatpost, and different pedals. There is one thing, however, that I am having difficulty getting to grips with, the straight forks on the mountain bike offer little or no castor action, with the result that when I need to signal I have to be coasting, otherwise I become very unsteady. What I perceive as a need to keep both hands on the handlebars all the time is a matter of some concern. I didn't have that problem with my Barracuda, although admittedly I was the best part of 10 years younger then.