Please help me fix my bum.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
I'm in urgent need of advice. I have a sore bum. I've been riding a bit for a few years so I ( and it) should have got immune to this embarrassing affliction, but last Friday I rode 55 miles or so to Brighton with some of The Usual Suspects. A lovely night out. The problem was that it was a very warm night, and I made the mistake of wearing a pair of thermals next to my skin beneath my padded bib longs.

:stop:( Read no further if you are of a delicate persuasion):stop:

It seems that sweat and a raised seam on the thermals started gnawing its way into that sensitive piece of flesh where the top of your inner thigh meets the bottom of a buttock. It seemed OK on Sunday when I went for a gentle pootle round The Park, but it felt really raw on my commute today, although not infected.. Modesty prevents me posting a photo, but enthusiasts may contact me by PM. (Large SAE, and a postal order for twenty one pounds excluding VAT, please)
Anyway, what should I do? I don't want to stop riding but would prefer to put some kind of wonder-gunk on it. The question is, which one?

Thank you.

Drago

Legendary Member
Savlon. Soothes, prevent it getting infected.

MikeW-71

Veteran
^^ that.

I had the same once from my usual comfy shorts. I hadn't got them on just right and they were rubbing. Should have stopped and sorted it, but 80 miles later :rolleyes: it was really painful and rubbed raw.

Savlon, a few days off the bike and looser underwear sorted it out.

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's
Have a shower/bath when you get in and, once thoroughly dr, dab some witch hazel on with a cotton ball. That should help to dry it out and toughen it up, I'd repeat after every shower/bath where you aren't intending to ride in the near future. For riding I would just use some sort of cream, I like Udderley Smooth myself

OP
OP
slowmotion

slowmotion

Quite dreadful