Police Cyclists

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Iceniner

Cycling to badminton yesterday came across a couple of mountain bike police officers plodding (excuse the pun) along so i pulled up and started chatting with them.

I was asking what kinda training they do, and they replied with a bit of a laugh "half a day mate", i wonder what their training consists of, does anyone know? basic maintenance covered? They were on nice hydraulic disc brake mtb.

Didnt get to ask if they had read cycle craft magnatom :tongue:

Shame they werent going down that same road about 20 minutes earlier where some muppet had loaded his car so much he couldnt see out of his passenger window to see me coming from his left side. grrr! The guy just pulled straight out onto the road not even looking!

toontra

Veteran
I've seen the Met training in Finsbury Park, where I started training also. It has to be said they were very slow!

atbman

Veteran
The best forces use the International Police MTB Association course which started off about 20 years ago - minus the use of firearms on the bike, of course.

Very thorough - York and Leeds police have used it as have a number of other forces.

I ran several 1-day road cycling courses for local police, including basic off-road skills. Mostly PCSOs but also a couple of police sergeants.

Try www.ipmba.com for more info if you're interested, particularly http://www.ipmba.org/newsletter-0504-commander.htm for a UK officer's viewpoint

HJ

Cycling in Scotland
HLaB said:
I seen them here for the first time in ages; it may of just been a coincidence but it was a lovely sunny day, no wind.

Where abouts? I used to cycle past Fettis on my commute and always hoped to see them cycling but never did. Saw the horses, or rather evidence of their outings a few times...

Hairy Jock said: