Profuse Sweating.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lovacott

Über Member
When I cycle to work and climb the big hills, I sweat bucket loads.

I've been doing the commute for over three months and my fitness levels have gone through the roof (BP down, heart rate well down, muscles are stronger, weight is dropping). I've cut seven minutes off my commute time in the last month.

But I still sweat just as much as I did on day one. It's not so bad in the mornings when it's cooler, but I am literally dripping when I get home, especially if the temperature is above 20c.

Some days, I struggle to see with the sweat running off my forehead and into my eyes.

Is this normal?

Each person is different. In the band, I'd be a mite warm, the drummer warmer still, and the front man rusted out a set of strings every gig.
Some people glow nicely, others melt!

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
Everyone one is different. I emit very little sweat yet a fellow commuter friend of mine sweats profusely and he's more bike fitter and faster than me.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!

I've been doing the commute for over three months and my fitness levels have gone through the roof (BP down, heart rate well down, muscles are stronger, weight is dropping). I've cut seven minutes off my commute time in the last month.

But I still sweat just as much as I did on day one. It's not so bad in the mornings when it's cooler, but I am literally dripping when I get home, especially if the temperature is above 20c.

Some days, I struggle to see with the sweat running off my forehead and into my eyes.

Is this normal?
When I was very overweight, I did a hilly 100-odd km ride on a very warm day. I drank 4 litres of fluids and lost 3 kgs on the ride so that meant I sweated/peed out at least 7 litres!

Years later, and much lighter, I would drink more like 2 litres and lose less than 1 kg on the same ride, so that is less than half the fluid losses.