Puncture Predicament

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

HormyAJP

Hello all,

This is probably something that gets discussed all the time, but please forgive me if I display any ignorance as I'm fairly new to cycling.

I recently bought a touring bike and have been cycling for several months without any problems. Now the weather's improving I've bought some pannier racks and have been attempting to go on day long cycles (previously I was just going out for a few hours with no load on my bike). Both times I've loaded up my pannier racks I have set off and got punctures in my rear tyre. The first time it happened after about 5 mins and the second after about 15. They were both complete blow outs and I heard and felt the pop.

I was hoping for some suggestions as to why this has been happening. When I've replaced the inner tube each time I've been carful to check the inside of the tyre for debris. I've also checked my rims to make sure there's no problem there. The outside of the tyre has lots of small cuts, but they are only on the surface. None have penetrated the kevlar layer. I've also made sure that the inner tube is completely inside the tyre and not trapped where the tyre meets the rim. The holes in the innertube were in different places each time.

I'm at a loss. I wondered if it was down to tyre pressure and perhaps the tyres being over inflated. However all the advice I've read says keep tyres pumped up as much as possible. I ride with my tyres at about 40 psi. Is this too high/too low or is there another obvious problem I should be checking for?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Andy

wallabyhunter

Where abouts were the holes in the tube?
Top (under the tread)
Bottom (facing the rim)
Sides?

What sort of tyre, road tyre or mtb (700C or 26"?)
Was there just one or two holes, 40 psi seems a bit low to me, if they are road tyres.

jags

Guru