Punture prevention

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BusDriver

OK. I'm using my bike to commute to and from work. As I'm a bus driver I can't be late for work, or the bus won't have a driver and other people won't get to work. I'm thinking of punture prevention.
Should I pump some slime into my inner tubes?
Fit a couple of Marathon Plus tyres?
Or do both?

What do you think?

Simon

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Can't help on the slime, but Marathon plusses have a pretty good reputation for toughness. BTW, forum etiquette demands we never write the P-word in full, P*ncture for instance is OK, otherwise bad luck may befall you courtesy of the P*ncture faries...! Actually, we never say H*lfords either!

P*nctures will happen once in a blue moon even with the toughest tyre. Good idea to practice changing a tube in the comfort of your own home, if you carry a spare and tools that work it takes very litttle time IMO.
Also, having a track-pump at home and keeping tyres at their proper pressure also helps prevent P*nctures.

bonj2

You may get one, but you would be very VERY unlucky to get two in a commute, depending on how far you ride.
Once you're fairly practiced at it you can get one changed in 10-15 minutes, so just set off that much earlier.
Don't put slime in, it doesn't work very well and probably adds quite a bit of weight.
Just get some good tyres, but do pay some attention to other properties of the tyres, such as rolling speed, grip, weight, etc. not just puncture protection, I did this and got some specialized armadillos and didn't like them that much. Replacing them when they start to let punctures in is more important than getting the 'most puncture resistant' ones in the shop in the firstplace. Remember, OLD tyres are far worse than BASIC but new tyres.