Raleigh maintenance repair

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Okeydokey

My previously owned Raleigh has been out on its first few rides and even as a complete novice I have noticed some major drawbacks to buying used stuff you know nothing about.
The bike model is a series 7005 and I need to replace the bottom bracket, the only information I can find is that it is a semi sealed cartridge, but I can't find any of these for sale. I can find a few bottom brackets for sale, just not a semi sealed.
I would really like to do the work myself, in future I would llike to either pimp this bike or rebuild, build on for myself, so the experience re: maintenance etc would be great. Any ideas input appreciated in finding my semi sealed cartridge or similar.

Edit: It's an Airlite

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Post some pictures.

It's most likely a Road bike 68mm shell cartridge BB that you can replace it with. The other key measurement is the axel length, which can be measured if you can get it out.

Simple job with the right tools.

OP
OP
Okeydokey

Okeydokey

That looks about right steve, I was just wondering fossyant if the there was a fully sealed variant, as you say something a bit more 'bomb proof'. Is the UN53/54 a reference to the thread size? I guess the shaft length must also stay at 124.5 square tapered?

lpretro1

No such thing as a 'fully sealed' bottom bracket.It will be a bog standard square taper Get a Shimano UN55 in the appropriate axle length - it will be a standard british thread so don't worry about that. The two important measurements are the shell width (will be either 68mm or 73mm - most likely 68mm) and the axle length (if current one is 124.5 you won't find that exact length - a 122.5 will do - it's only 1mm diff either side). Have u got the tools for removing cranks & then the bottom bracket itself. If not might be an idea to get LBS to do it for you

Tim Hall