Raleigh Royale circa 1968? 5speed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brummie53

Hi newbie here, I have one of the above bikes which has been in my garage for many years . Thinking about restoring it and wondered if replacement parts are still available! Thinking of wheels tyres and inner tubes in particular.
Any advice welcome

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Do you mean Royal? Is it like this one: https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/raleigh-royal-23-5-frame-absolutely-stunning.263916/#post-6056795
All parts are available so don’t worry. You’ll need to replace all the cables, inner and outers as well as the bar tape. A good clean and lube should see you ready to roll.
Good luck, any help you need just ask.

:welcome: to the forum :okay:

Hi and :welcome:.
You might not need much in terms of parts .
If you were to give it a good wash off and then go from there . Give it a good clean and polish.
Most likely that the bearings will still be good and will just need cleaning and new grease and will go on for more years .
If you can post pictures it will help and we enjoy looking at them .

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
Do you mean Royal? Is it like this one: https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/raleigh-royal-23-5-frame-absolutely-stunning.263916/#post-6056795
All parts are available so don’t worry. You’ll need to replace all the cables, inner and outers as well as the bar tape. A good clean and lube should see you ready to roll.
Good luck, any help you need just ask.

:welcome: to the forum :okay:
Could be Royale, which was the mixte equivalent of the Royal. Probably a bit more recent than 1968? Late 70s/early 80s possibly.
Featured in this 1983 catalogue as a 10 speed, 531 main tubes.