REALLY Confused - Advice Please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
There are probably all sorts of factors at work. Perhaps you were dehydrated when you got the low readings, or perhaps you ate something which is making you retain extra fluid when you get the high readings.

The timing of toilet visits relative to weighings is an obvious factor. Temperature sensitivity of digital scales is another one (mine are definitely affected by heat and cold).

Accuracy of scales - mine absolutely refuse to indicate certain weights. For example, I have been hovering around 15 stone for a couple of months now but my weight is always shown as 14-13 or 15-01, never 15-00.

The most obvious thing to try is weighing yourself multiple times in quick succession. I have seen readings from 14-12 to 15-02 within minutes of each other. Once you've observed that, you realise that cheap scales can't actually be trusted to the precise pound or half kilo.

My suggestion is to do what I was doing - weigh yourself first thing in the morning, always under the same conditions i.e naked or wearing PJs, pre-toilet visit or post. Write down the reading. Accumulate readings for a week, then take the average of them. That is your official weight for the week. Doing that tends to smooth out the daily fluctuations which will otherwise do your head in! The overall trend will be obvious though.

The best gauge of progress is a belt. Find one with notches at (say) one inch intervals. Put it round your waist and do it up so that it is comfortable without you breathing in! Mark each hole as you use it. Ideally, you always use the hole you used last time until eventually you can tighten it another notch.

Keep up the good work and don't let the scales distract you.

ASC1951

Guru
gb155 said: