Rear Rim cracked around spoke hole

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mycroft

as the title says :ohmy:

I only noticed because Of an unrelated punc*ure, there are 2 cracks/splits on either side of a spoke hole in the aluminium of the rim.

so

Is it safe to go on riding? (managed 35mph on it at the weekend)

its a Alex CA-20 on a Marin Muirwoods 2009 and I can't find any way to buy another, so whats my best option for a new rim?

I'm wondering if I should rebuild the wheel myself once I've bought a new rim, but as I have never done anything like that before, would I be better off getting the LBS to take my money and do it for me?

the bikes only just over a year old and this has happened AND the bottom bracket has started to grind worringly.

Should I just hand the whole thing over and get a thorough repair/service?

how much is all that likely to cost (more of less) ?

thanks in advance

I'd deduce that this is the rear wheel?

It needs replacing as if it goes any further the spoke will become loose and put more pressure on the spokes either side etc leading to possible failure mid-ride.

Building a wheel takes a bit of practice and patience and some of the cheap hubs are not going to last long anyway so I'd look at a new wheel as being the best option.

The BB probably needs a service at least - although it may need replacing as again some of the components are not too hard wearing.

Personally I'd advise having a think about servicing your own bike - it's not too difficult.

Matthames

Über Member
Is the bike still under warranty?

Cracks around the spoke holes are usually a sign that the spokes have been over tightened.

Is it safe to go riding on? The answer is a resounding no, a cracked rim will fail catastrophically, throwing you from your bike.

OP
OP
M

Mycroft

Rear wheel yup (sorry should have said)

bike about 4/5 weeks out of warranty (typical int it)