Replacement 27 wheels

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KateK

Hi Guys, I know this question has been asked before, but the links are defunct so:
I have a 1980s entry level Raleigh Wisp mixte ie heavy (about 34lbs with rack and guards) that I have been using for 2 1/2 years now doing about 5000 miles a year. It still has the original chromed wheels and they are getting very rusty. Also I've just started going out with a group and realise that, although I'm used to a half mile braking distance in heavy rain and accommodate it, it's not safe for group riding. So what do I replace them with?
I want the wheels to go well, I do 16mph av on a good day, but also to be strong enough for carrying shopping and winter riding.
I've run into problems with cheap replacement stuff before for these old bikes (gear block falling apart after 2 months for example) so would be grateful for any pointers, also any recommendations for brake blocks: brakes are original side pull with exciting 'no-brake' extension levers.

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
SJS cyles still have some 27" rims, apparently, but only in 36 or 40 hole. Is there enough adjustability on your existing brake calipers to drop the brake blocks a few mm to enable 700c wheels to be used? It might be time to upgrade the brakes to deep-drop double pivot, which would be a revelation after using old single pivot ones. For brake blocks, Koolstop salmon are cheap enough and improve braking noticeably, even on chromed rims. Just a few things to consider.

As an afterthought, I'm sure I have a couple of slightly used 27" rims kicking about in the outhouse; not top notch quality, but would be an improvement over your current ones. Can't remember what the drilling was, but they're probably both 36 hole, rather than the old 32 front / 40 rear fashion.

OP
OP
KateK

KateK