Replacing gears

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am going to replace my compact double with a triple, I have the bits namely a triple chainset a triple front derailleur and a med cage rear derailleur plus new chain and cassette. My problem is I am not very technically minded so my wife works with someone who said he would fit the bits and set the gears up, he reckons that you need a jig for the rear derailleur I would have thought that it would just be a matter of removing the old one and bolting the new one in place,can anybody give me some info on this jig or if one is needed.Ta

I am Spartacus

Über Member
To swap over from a double to triple...
a Jig for replacing the actual rear mech...? dunno what 'he' is going on about to be honest .
Obviously you should make life easier by sticking with same manufacturer.
However, you may need to heed..
perhaps you may/will require a god awful long cage rear for your triple and not a medium and
check your bottom bracket.. that may need to be a 'wider' fit
oh.. and yes your sti shifter may not be compatible with a 3 ring..

on last note, with a carefully thought about compact and cassette combination, you actually can get all the useable gears to get you up those hills (presuming this is reason to go triple, yuk) .. to save you all the hassle... but that does require a bit of thought

disclaimer:all advice guaranteed not to actually work

PpPete

Legendary Member
I am Spartacus said:
perhaps you may/will require a god awful long cage rear for your triple and not a medium and
check your bottom bracket.. that may need to be a 'wider' fit
oh.. and yes your sti shifter may not be compatible with a 3 ring..

What Shimano call a Medium cage rear derailleur is fine for most triples. They don't make a "long cage". Only Short "SS" and Medium "GS" models.

Bottom bracket....typically a longer spindle is recommended for triples, but the difference is so small I'd try with the one you've got.