Result from a complaint

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

adds21

Rider of bikes
I've been cycling to work for about 18 months, and although I've had the odd close overtake, I hadn't, until last week, felt the need to write a letter of complaint to a company.

However, just over a week ago, I was overtaken very closely by a coach. I got the registration, and knew who the operator where, so knocked off a stern letter to them, telling them exactly what happened, and what I thought of the driver! I found it extra annoying as the coach drivers from this operator are usually very courteous.

The day after I posted the letter, I received an email from the company confirming they had received my letter, and outlining what the process was. As the coach involved was quite new, it would be fitted with internal and external CCTV, so they would review the CCTV, and formally interview the driver. They said I could expect to hear from them in 7 to 10 days.

True to their word, today I received the following email (XXX’s replaced by me, as I don’t see the need to publicly “out” the company or route involved).

Further to my email a few days ago regarding the incident you experienced on XXXXXX, we have now obtained and analysed the CCTV footage and I can give you the following summary of our investigations and actions.

The footage shows the bus approaching and overtaking you on your bike. The driver then moves across to the left to avoid a traffic island in the centre of the road, and in doing so the bus has moved far closer to your bike than we would consider acceptable. From our investigations it is clear that the driver did not read the road ahead correctly and make the correct judgement as to whether to hold back until he had passed the traffic island or overtake you before the island.