'right' nutrition for long rides/events

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JohnRedcoRn

ie; 50 mile rides etc;

bananas and cereal bars and jelly babies + 2 bottles of water + refills if needed - this is what i've used so far, will this do or should i really get some 'proper' energy bars. (i sometimes keep a couple of those little urine sample pots full of orange juice as a quick boost too)

do i really need energy bars, glucose tablets etc

and is a peanut butter sandwich a GOOD or a NOT SO GOOD food ??

this stuff could make all the diference to me as i'm fairly new to cycling but doing long rides

thanks

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
50 miles - just two bottles of energy drink - e.g. PSP, Isostar Long Energy.

Maybe a banana or two and or flapjack or oat type bars. Eat well before riding.

Malt loaf is good, as is fruit cake loaded with dried fruit. Dried fruit also good as are fig rolls (but you might not find any - seem to still be in short supply - mate at work couldn't find any recently in Tesco).

I would really not recommend touching anything with simple sugars, certainly not till the last few miles, if at all - jelly beans are full of sugar - you'll get a rush, insulin will kick in and you'll be back down lower than you were - might be OK for last 10, but if you've fueled correctly, then you won't need them - you'll feel fine.

I did 60 miles a couple of weeks ago on 2 energy drinks, and 3 small oat / flapjack bars - and in under 3 hours. Felt fine all the way round - still going at a good pace at 58 miles - needed to do two more before I went home so did another local climb before returning.

Some folk swear by mars bars etc, coke, red bull, but it's only useful if you've blown up and are near to home. If you've blown up, you've cocked up your fueling anyway. Energy bars aren't needed - waste of cash.