Road bike for a 9 year old

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

hobbitonabike

Formerly EbonyWillow
Since OH and I have gotnour road bikes our 9year old is now fancying one and he is really enjoying his cycling. We are trying to decide whether to go for a road bike or a hybrid and were after a bit of advice from those who had been there and done that. Have had a look around online and seen a few road bikes...Islabikes, Raleigh and Viking. Are there any gems we're missing or turkeys we should avoid? Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
I have no experience of this bike but decathlon do a kids road bike, it should be good as all their other bikes get good reviews.
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-junior-id_8129804.html

Sara_H

Guru
Hi EbonyWiilow, we're in te same position as you, looking to get our son a road bike for his birthday/christmas.

Having sat him on a few we've decided to go for Islabikes as the reach/brakes seem easier for him - the decathlon bike that fitted him seemed cause him problems reaching the bralkes. Also he finds the gears on his hybrid difficult to fathom, the Islabikes seem to be a simpler set up.

So decision made, I now need to sell a kidney in order to afford the blummin thing!

Doseone

Guru
I've not heard a bad word about Islabikes. They are expensive, but you get what you pay for and they have good resale value too.

The only thing I wonder is whether a road bike for a 9 year old is too limiting? What I mean is that if you get a road bike, you can really only ride on the road, and if your 9 year old is anything like my 9 year old he won't want to just stick to riding on the road.

If you want to stay with Islabikes you could go for something like the Beinn 26 small which would still be pretty good on the road, but would also be up to some light off road use as well.

Buying a bike for your kids is even more fun than getting one for yourself so happy shopping:thumbsup:

Sara_H