Rohloff Speedhub for an Audax bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm just getting into Audax riding with a view of going for LEL 2013. I have a lovely, heavy duty (18kg) touring bike with a Rohloff Speedhub I use for multi-day, fully loaded trips covering 60-85 miles per day. I plan to use this bike (with some stripping off of none essential items like racks, kick stand, etc.) for 200 and 300 km rides. This should bring the weight down to 16.5-17kg. I'll make a decision after a few of these rides if I need to get a lighter more traditional Audax bike for longer distances.

I have one question. I love the Rohloff Speedhub on my bike. I would have thought the robustness of the system was a plus point for Audax rides. Does anyone have any experience of using them for this purpose? Just curious?

frank9755

Cyclist
I'm just getting into Audax riding with a view of going for LEL 2013. I have a lovely, heavy duty (18kg) touring bike with a Rohloff Speedhub I use for multi-day, fully loaded trips covering 60-85 miles per day. I plan to use this bike (with some stripping off of none essential items like racks, kick stand, etc.) for 200 and 300 km rides. This should bring the weight down to 16.5-17kg. I'll make a decision after a few of these rides if I need to get a lighter more traditional Audax bike for longer distances.

I have one question. I love the Rohloff Speedhub on my bike. I would have thought the robustness of the system was a plus point for Audax rides. Does anyone have any experience of using them for this purpose? Just curious?