Route Mapping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

olliem121

Hi All,

I'm new to all this. As the football season is over I decided to take up cycling to keep up my fitness. I have become totally addicted to it now, find it really rewarding. I love the distance I can cover on my road bike and I plan to explore lots of new areas.

Whats the best way to map out my routes? This is important to me as i'm a bit of a stat/geography geek and I like to review my work. Currently I am using Google Maps to draw my routes - link http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/ms?hl...d=205563434876269700957.0004a092b316bf58834a8

It looks ok but its going to get really congested soon. Is there a website that is better for this sort of thing? I also find it really difficult to draw a route exactly where its intended using the "draw a line along a road" feature, especially any routes overlap. Is that just me?

Also if anyone is from the area it would be great to be recommended some interesting routes or places to visit - I plan to do 100mile routes by the end of the summer!

Good luck to me.

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
Bike Hike

Here

It would help to let people know where you are.

OP
OP
O

olliem121

Bike Hike

Here

It would help to let people know where you are.

I didnt get on too well with Bike Hike if im honest. It has some interesting details, but it doesnt seem very good for recording and displaying multiple routes.

It also uses Google Maps which i am currently using

kedgeree

Regular
Olliem, I've got a garmin forerunner which tracks your position / speed / elevation etc. Plug it in at the end of your run and it'll show your route on a map & various options such as transferring to google earth etc. I got it for birthday but I think they're about £120.