Rust removal?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

VintageRuby

Clinging on for dear life.
Hi all, I'm looking into ways of removing rust from my padels, bear in mind that I'm poor lol
I saw a video just now that recommended white vinegar to remove rust from tools, would it work in the same way? The reason I ask is that the video said you had to soak the tools in the vinegar and there is no way I'm going to attempt to remove the pedals, as I'm still learning and have a horrible feeling that they won't go back on haha

Cheers in advance

WD40 and tinfoil.
Spray on a bit, scrunch up tinfoil, and rub.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Cillit Bang bathroom spray removes rust, if you already have some then spray it liberally on your pedals and leave it for a bit before a final spray and a brush with a washing up brush, or a scrub with a pan scourer. Rinse off and dry afterwards.
WD40 is also a decent rust remover. If you have some already, just use that, same steps. If you have both products, use the Cillit for the first pass, then wash the pedals, then spray with WD40 and wipe.

Gravity Aided

Legendary Member
Just keep away from the bearings . WD-40 is a lot better solvent than a lubricant, and cleaning strength white vinegar is also a great degreaser. And that's a pretty tough job, removing pedals, then cleaning and re-lubing bearings, cones, and races. Although it will have to be done at some point, probably.

RichardB

Slightly retro
Coca-Cola. Look on Youtube for a guy who derusts the chrome bumpers on his car with it.