Schoolchildren crossing at Junctions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

benb

Evidence based cyclist
This is true. Stupidity is not hereditary therefor not affected by evolution. Wiping out lots of stupid people will not create smarter people in the future.

Could be worth a try though.

Not really.

If I took a gun and shot someone who was suggested to have been "stupid" for entering a high crime area - would that be evolution too. No it would not. Actions formed from intellect lead to the outcome not evolution.

May I also ask if yourself or Spinney have any formal qualification in biology?

My background is heavy in Microbiology, but my work is with yeast and bacteria.

No I'm not saying the motorists actions were deliberate in that scenario (perhaps I worded poorly there). I'm saying that the pedestrians actions through choice would lead to a downfall, not genetics or intellect etc.

My background was microbiology. Albeit for a very short time at a Btec higher level.

This has been real fun, later can we have a nice discussion about speciation and intelligent design theory.

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
That is still not survival of the fittest.... motoring can kill indiscriminately even the most fit and strong, and its entirely non-biological. Yes I agree evolution is about success but you're conflating the man-made with the natural order of things

The evolutionary process involves both physical and mental 'fitness' though. Change survival of the fittest to survival of the least stupid then?

W
yeah, bloody kids on foot: don't pay any effin road tax nor nuffin. They should have to do a test and have insurance..

What is worse they freeload!

There we have the poor overtaxed motorist paying his road tax, and all these little tykes sitting in the car being ferried all over the place expecting someone else to pay the road tax

mangid

Guru
Hmm, yes, one fractured radial head later...