Semi integrated headset.

Discussion in 'Bicycle Mechanics and Repairs' started by Salty seadog, 5 Mar 2018.

Tags:
  1. Salty seadog

Salty seadog Space Cadet...(3rd Class...)

Hi, I have a semi integrated headset that has gone clunky and notchy, wanting to straight line the wheel. Would this be a complete replacement or just bearings? I have no experience with anything with bearings.

2. You can flip the seals off, replace and repack the bearings, but it’s a false economy, might as well just replace the lot.

Salty seadog likes this.
  3. Tangoup51

Tangoup51 'HISS' said the tire, 'F***!' replied the rider.

It's a false economy to replace the whole lot when all it probably needs is a slather of grease..

4. Mister Paul

Mister Paul Legendary Member

If it's notching then the races are brinelled and will need replacing.

5. If it’s graunching, and there’s play in the headset, chances are the bearings are worn too much, up to you if you think it’s worth the risk of just sticking grease all over worn out bearings to make them feel smooth. Personally, I’d consider that less than sensible, at best, and certainly not best practice, but if you want to do that, it’s up to you.

6. Unless it’s a ‘race less’ set up, a couple of my bikes are. The crown race isn’t a separate component.

Mister Paul likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    Salty seadog

Don't know what sort it is as I've never worked on any parts with bearings myself. Going to the lbs tomorrow.

Racing roadkill likes this.
  8. That’s always a wise move, if in any doubt. There are lots of different headset types, it’s nearly as confusing as B.B. standards:laugh:

Salty seadog likes this.
  9. Tangoup51

Headset play is a very common indicator the headset needs a service. It doesn't have to mean the bearings are worn out as it might mean the grease has washed out or the headset has shaken loose from miles and miles of riding.