Shimano Deore (gear) Trigger problem?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

marinbearvalley

Hi, new here, hope someone can help.

I can use the single trigger to drop a gear but sometimes when I try to climb back up a few gears, the lever has no resistance and does not take-up the cable slack. (The gear indicator does not move) Sometimes it is fine, other times not - seems to be getting progressively worse. Sometimes I have to keep pressing the lever a few times before it works.

I have tried the usual adjusting the gears at the back and the cable seems free moving, making me think the actual trigger mechanism on the handlebars are at fault. However I am no expert here as you may tell from my terminology!

Have I missed anything or is this a typical kind of problem and do I need to replace the trigger shifter or is there anything to try.

Was going to just take the bike for a service but would like to determine if the part needs replacing first?

If replacement would any Shimano trigger 9 speed (x3) be compatible or do I need an exact match. I know they are not cheap!

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=477

£20 quid for vanilla Deore shifter pod, I have heard that some people find taking them apart and servicing them works for them, but then I read http://www.cs.hmc.edu/~geoff/deoredx/index.html

OP
OP
M

marinbearvalley

2Loose said:
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=477

£20 quid for vanilla Deore shifter pod, I have heard that some people find taking them apart and servicing them works for them, but then I read http://www.cs.hmc.edu/~geoff/deoredx/index.html

Thanks for that. Not sure which is the £20 one though. The link is to one discontinued and not available.

Had seen that they are a nightmare to disassemble. (or more likely reassemble)

As we speak I have taken the shifter off the handlebar. Typical I recently changed the grips which were very hard to fit/remove :biggrin: