Shimano Sora or Shimano Tiagra???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Peanut_77

Hi,
I am very new to the sport and am looking at a decent entry level bike however i am a little confused with all the specs especially gears etc.

I have spotted a decent bike Trek 2013 1.2 Compact H2 for £695 everything looks great on the bike however i have also seen the Trek 2013 1.5 Triple H2 for £845.

After matching the two up the only main difference is the Tiagra on the 1.5 and the Sora on the 1.2 so is there a big difference to justify £150?.

Cheers

NotthatJasonKenny

Faster on HFLC
In my limited experience, yes.

You have to decide between a compact and a triple first, some say there isn't much difference with available gears and a compact is lighter but I would get the Tiagra triple over the sora compact.

D

Deleted member 20519

Tiagra. I don't really like the thumb shifters on my Triban, can't shift from the drops. Would prefer the Tiagra style shifters.

vickster

Legendary Member
I think 2013 Sora loses the thumb buttons from other threads on here - did you look at the bikes - Tiagra should be lighter and smoother shifting. I have Tiagra, works well

Doseone

Guru
If you can afford it get the Tiagra, but don't sweat it if you can't. One of my bikes is a Scott which is about 12 years old and has got Sora on and it's always worked fine and has been trouble free.

OP
OP
P

Peanut_77

Thanks guys there seems to be a common trend with the Tiagra so will probably go down that route however will have to keep the receipt hidden from the other half!!!

Primal Scream

Get your rocks off
I have a Sora groupset with a triple on my Trib 5, seems fine to me and the gear change causes me no problem, then again my previous road blke had down tube shifters and Benelux gears :smile:

Norm