Shocked by peoples reluctance to spend relatively small amounts on a bike.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

markharry66

Über Member
Bottom line dont make money then your not a business your a hobby. Sell yourself short bet plagued by low paying clients.
Set yourself up for a fall and watch it tumble. Of course it doesnt always work out that way as people always under cut you.

glasgowcyclist

Charming but somewhat feckless
As someone was saying before about fixing computers etc for friends. I used to be a Network Engineer back in the late 90s and I got the whole 'will you fix my PC thing' and I would spend hours sorting out their little network and PCs for a 'Ta, see you soon then'. Now I tell them I'm a luddite and have forgotten most of it, which is true ^_^

I used to get that too, folk would say, "Go see GC, he's right into computers.."
Nobody would ever dream of saying, "Go see Dave, he's right into plumbing..." and expect to get a boiler sorted for two beers and a curry.

GC

Robson3022

I buy and sell second had furniture as well as doing house clearances. Its unbelivable how many people I have offended when offering them £30 for there suite they paid £1500 for 5 years ealier. Every time I get it for £30 as when I break it down-

There is a ceeling with standard second hand furniture. A mint leather 3 piece in a desireable colour will do maximum of £300-£350. Ill work from the top..

£300-£30 purchase
£270-£20 in fuel picking the suite up and I offer free delivery within 20 miles
£250- £50 in wages for staff to pick up and deliver suite if theres only that job on
£200- £40 in wages for someone to be in the shop while I am out
So I'm left with £160 to pay rent, rates, insurance, maintainance on the van, Tax for the van, Income tax then finaly a wage.

Thats on a £300 suite I get for £30 I possibly do this once every 2 months. The rest of the time I'm usually paying £30 for suites I sell between £100-£200