Shop servicing or DIY?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Matthames

Über Member
DIY is certainly the best route. Knowing how to fix a problem at the side of the road in the middle of nowhere can mean the difference between a long walk home or continuing on your ride.

Good example of this happened to me recently. I had taught myself with the aid of the internet on how to build and true wheels without using a jig (using the bike frame instead). This knowledge came in handy when I was touring, I had popped a couple of spokes on the same side of the wheel, which had pushed it out of true. I managed to find a bike shop, however they were really busy and wouldn't of been able to fix my wheel for a while. So I asked them for a couple of spokes and set about repairing the wheel myself at the side of the road in order for me to be able to press on and get to the campsite.

DavieB

MIA
Im a truck mechanic to trade, but dont have a clue where to start with bikes. Without a doubt I could strip it to bits and rebuild it. but I dont have a clue how to adjust Gears. This is the only bit im unsure of everything else I could figure out (I think)

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Jmetz said:
:blush: i want to be a DIYer. but im lost, floppy brake lever

Another good example...

Floppy brake lever. Ok, how does the brake work? It's basically two mechs, one at each end, connected by a cable. You pull the cable one way (using the lever); a spring in the brake pulls it back the other way.

So, floppy lever? Clearly the spring is not doing its job properly. Why not? Most likely because the cable isn't running easily thru' its 'tunnel'...probably corrosion somewhere along the route, possibly some grit.

So, first thing to try is probably to run some oil thru' the tunnel (aka cable housing) from one end to t'other...see if that frees things up a bit.

And so on.