should i cycle infront of or behind my 6 year old?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

united4ever

Über Member
So my son has started cycling and is doing well but only been on the pavements of busy roads and on the road itself on quiet suburban estates.

I have been cycling in front of him and looking back as much as possible. My instinct was that I could lead and any hazards that come our way I will approach first and can negotiate and call back to him to slow down/stop or whatever. I can also make myself visible and get eye contact with drivers/pedestrians .

However, maybe I should be behind him encouraging him and I could watch him a lot more than if I was infront....mind you if he does wobble or fall off he would surely be on the ground before I could get to him.

Should I keep leading the way?

Profpointy

Legendary Member
I've no direct experience but I'd.be behind - you can keep an eye and supervise and by road positioning shield him from traffic. You need to be sure he'll obey if you shout "STOP" at junction / lights - but you'll see when you need to shout

steve50

Disenchanted Member
ride at the side of him, you are his shield, his guide, if he gets a little wobble on you are there to stop him veering into traffic etc. If he is in front he has no guide if he is behind you cannot monitor him full time.

w00hoo_kent

One of the 64K
Agreed on behind, mine learnt to ride at 6-ish but was a lot older when I started to ride again so I don't have direct experience, but sitting behind allows you to control traffic better, watch what they are doing more attentively and it's easy enough to stay close enough to shout if needed. You need to be happy they will do what you say, and turn/slow when you say so.

Of course it does mean you're the one drafting all the time :-)

buggi

Bird Saviour