Sizing a bike.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

David Garside

Hello. I've had a quick look around the forum and cannot find an answer to this question...I apologise if there is one and i've not found it.
How do you actually size the bike up that you require...I'm 5'6" and have an inside leg of 31". I know there is a relation to the distance "bum to pedal and bum to floor"....but how and what do you do to get the correct one for you.
Sorry if this seems a very basic and stupid question. :unsure:

dharma66

Regular
It seems to me ( though I have little experience) that the best approach is to visit a bike shop and try them on for size, especially if you don't have a lot of recent experience of bikes and the different manufacturers.

For example, if you took my inside leg/height measurement, I'd be sized up for a 17.5" frame for a Trek hybrid. However, when I straddled one at my local shop, the assistant (who is way more knowledgable for me) immediately suggested I try a 20". On this size frame I have only a small amount of top tube clearance, but on the smaller frame, my knees felt like they were bumping the handlebars, and the whole thing felt very cramped.

If I'd followed simple sizing guides and bought online without trying for size, I'd have been in a bit of mess.

OP
OP
David Garside

David Garside

Thank you for that...maybe that's what i'll do then. I'm ok at the moment with what i've got but if I decide to go the whole hog and get a decent replacement i'll need the right advice. I'll take yours and visit the nearest (proper) local dealer.
Thanks again.

OP
OP
David Garside

David Garside

Hmm ! That's the age old question. I'd like to do a bit of road and trail so I suppose a hybrid is the answer to that....I don't want to do anything really rough but mainly old tracks, canal towpaths, old railway tracks etc. What would you suggest for those uses ?.

Pauluk