Strava Premium v Cycle Computer / Heart Rate Monitor?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello,

I am an amateur cyclist who is looking to improve my Richmond Park lap time and train 3-5 times a week. I have a current lap time of 18.51

I use strava every ride and cannot work out what would be best in terms of training as well as providing a live set of data whilst I am riding whether I am best off using Strava Premium or a / both Cycle Computer as well as a heart rate monitor - how I might use a combination of these in tandem with one another.

Would someone be kind enough to elaborate for me? I am not looking to get a power meter at this stage as i understand they cost upwards of £300.00

Thank you

S-Express

Technology may be useful, but it might only tell you what may already be apparent. What does your training consist of '3-5 times a week'..?? Faster lap times will equate to an improvement in your sustainable aerobic power, so what are you doing to improve that?

Last edited:
OP
OP
T

TerryTibbs

By training 3-5 times a week I am doing 2-3 laps of Richmond Park per session, over the last year I have gone from 22:00 to 18:50.

I merely go as quickly as I can.

Jason

a cycle computer with +ant sensors (heart rate and cadence) are all that you need. I don't have Strava premium, so others may be able to advise on what we are missing, but in reality I doubt very much.
Training 3-5 times a week, will see your cadence increase and lap times tumble

OP
OP
T

TerryTibbs

@Jasonbourne

Thank you. Strava is very good in that it logs your lap times and divides the lap into segments. I can only imagine that the speed it gives you is not as accurate as a computer.

Might you recommend a computer with said sensors?

OP
OP
T

TerryTibbs