Stupid Cyclist!!!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

XmisterIS

Purveyor of fine nonsense
Hi all,

I am a regular rider, I commute, do off-road, cycle for fun, etc, I've been riding for about 20 years. And today I would like to have a little RANT!!! I know this is only my second post on the forum, but please forgive me for jumping in with a rant - I feel I have a very important point to make here.

One thing that makes my blood boil is when I see selfish cyclists giving the rest of us a bad name
brood.gif

Anyway, I was driving along a country road the other day, came to a little village with one of those traffic-calming chicane things that gives right-of way to traffic in one direction, and then the other.

So, I slowed right down to about 25 mph, came up to the first chicane and prepared to go through it. Bear in mind that (a) I was driving a car and (:rolleyes: I had right of way.

Suddenly, a guy on a race bike came flying round the corner, totally ignored the great big "give way" sign on his side of the chicane and comes hurtling towards me, on my side of the road. I had just enough time to slam on the brakes and hold my hand on the horn .... and as he went past me, he shouted at me to f**k off, and gave me the finger!

I was incredibly pissed off for three reasons:

a) That guy has probably single-handedly created scores of bike-hating drivers, just because he rides like an arrogant, selfish a**hole. Therefor, when I am out on my bike, riding courteously, they hate me too.

:sad: It was my right of way - the highway code applies to bicycles too!

c) I was driving one-and-a-half tonnes of Ford Mondeo - if I had hit him I would have probably killed him, his family would have been distraught and I would have to live the rest of my life with the memory of his death.

So ... if you ride a bike and you don't drive, go and get a copy of the highway code and READ IT!!!!!
mad.gif
It might just save your life.

MartinC

Über Member