Stupid Motorists and Bad Driving

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Alasdair Geddes

I've been cycling regularly on my road bike for about three months now and in that short time I've seen some very stupid motorists. The most stupid driver I've seen was about three days ago. I was going down a fairly quiet country road when I started hearing HONK! HONK! from behind me. As the horn grew louder I could hear the driver shouting through his window. He pulled along side me, still honking and shouting "PEOPLE AREN'T SUPPOSED TO CYCLE ON THE ROAD!!!" at the top of his voice. He then sped off into the distance. I am still unsure as to why he thinks that road bikes aren't allowed on roads and I have no idea how he passed his driving test.

The second stupid motorist is unfortunately very common. This usually involves a large 4x4 and a driver who thinks that their oversized vehicle gives them power over the world. The worst example of this scenario took place about a month ago as I was cycling down another country road. I was approaching a blind left hand bend when a large 4x4 sped up behind me honking violently. The driver swerved around me, swerved around another cyclist on the other side of the road, then swerved around another car that was going round the bend. All this swerving was done while at speed and honking aggressively. Somehow no one was killed. Again, this leads me to question how this person ever managed to pass their driving test.

Does anyone else have any such stories? I'm sure there are many more stupid motorists to talk about.

BSRU

A Human Being