Suntour Chainset

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Nebulous

Guru
I have an Edinburgh bike cyclocross bike, which is in need of some care and attention. It has a square taper bottom bracket. I changed the chain today and the BB revolves very freely, but there is a fair bit of movement in the chain on the front ring- almost catching the mech on both sides in some gears. It is a Suntour SR XCT triple.

I'm wondering:-

a) what is going on here? Could the chainrings be bent, or perhaps more worryingly, could it not be square on the taper?

b) what should I do about it? I've never worked on a square taper bracket before. Should I buy a new chainset and replace it? I use it pretty much every day for a very short commute and don't want to have it off the road if I can help it.

screenman

Legendary Member
Going by what you have wrote have you thought about an lbs?

OP
OP
N

Nebulous

Guru
Going by what you have wrote have you thought about an lbs?

It does look like that from my post doesn't it? I use Edinburgh bike for bikes and lots of bits, but do all my work myself. I've a decent toolset, a bike stand and maintained an Allez on my own through 12,000 miles and 3 or 4 new hollowtech brackets. I'm back to work tomorrow, thought my bike needed nothing more than a new chain and left that until the last minute, so I've taken a real wobble here. I'd probably rather replace both the chainset and the BB than take it elsewhere, but I was hoping someone would say just hit it with a hammer and it'll be fine!

screenman

Legendary Member
To be honest the bit where you could not tell if it was bent or not led me to give that advice.

I am sorry for having read the post wrong.

Leaway2

Lycrist