Taking the Bike - Preparation

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all, I often wonder this but never really follow it through. [Background] Earlier this year I bought a new bike (Giant Escape 4) and I rode it a bit, taking it to parks and places like the greenway in the city. But I got bored of it fast and sort of resented the whole, taking the wheel off and fitting it in the car and whatnot. If the weather was slightly uncomfortable, I avoided it. It has sat in the shed all summer. Back when I was a student (2016-17) I really explored the notion of commuting in by bike. And I got so far in it. My car back then was unreliable and not great at best. Now I have a very comfortable Avensis (and a considerate monthly payment). It drinks a lot more fuel than my old car, and also, if any of you drive much, I don't need to tell you the cost of that in 2022.

[Discussion] I'm revisiting the idea of depending more on my bike. But you know what puts me off? The cold. The wind. The rain. When I don't wrap up, being freezing and getting a bit of a cold. Or when I do <with the wrong normal casual clothes> sweating like a pig, and then being musty if I were to, say go to the office. I now have a girlfriend who doesn't drive and lives in the city who I can stay with virtually as much as I like and cycle to work - though I've never done it. I'm hoping she might like the idea of cycling if I got her into it, she has a kid with a bike too who's virtually never used it, I was thinking instead of days out depending on the car, we maybe did more cycling and exploring locally. I've been spending up to £80 a week on fuel lately, so I'd gladly stay local.