Teaching kids to ride can be very challenging!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dadam

Quite envious of those whose kids have just taken to cycling easily. I've tried for a few years to teach my two to ride, and thus far failed miserably! I'd love to be able to go on rides with the family but it looks like a pipedream at the moment. I'd settle for us pootling around a park together but even that seems unlikely. I am increasingly prepared for the revelation that I'm just a crap teacher!

Child 1: 15 y.o. girl. Can't ride at all. Did the bikeability course at school in year 6 (?) or whenever they do it, but never graduated beyond the basic control in the playground. She's too scared of falling off to give the bike chance to get moving enough to achieve some balance. She'll just grab the brakes and stop before that point. Best she's done is approx 10 feet down our drive, between me letting go after pushing, and her putting her feet down. For that second or two she did seem to have almost got the balance and I think she'd get it with a little more but she has zero motivation to try. She refuses to go to the local park with the bike due to the risk of being seen by peers from her school. There is a quiet traffic free lane about 1/2 mile away from our house that should be ideal but will have to wait for better weather.