Tektro Mechanical Disc Brake Advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lejogger

Guru
Afternoon all,

The missus has purchased a Boardman ADV 8.6W which came equipped with Tektro MD-C511 flat mount disc brakes.

The calipers seem okay - fairly simple to adjust, but we're really struggling with stopping power. I'm not a mechanical disc brake novice, for example I have BB7s on the winter bike, and set those up without issue. However these seem to really be taking their time to bed in.

As soon as I'd built the bike I spent a decent amount of time tearing up and down the road building up some speed and hauling on the anchors. We've also done around 50 miles on the road with them so far, but improvement is minimal. Bedding in was not an after-thought. I was always aware that this needed to be done.

It's her first bike for years so am trying to build her confidence, but needless to say this isn't helping matters - especially if a swift stop is required.

What I'd like to know is:

a) Do we just have to keep working on bedding them in, and be assured that they will achieve a reasonable level of grabbiness in the near future?

b) Should I be looking to upgrade the pads from the OEM for significant improvements? If so, what do you recommend? Is there a fancy brake pad website that might be useful?

c) Should I throw in my hand and look to replace the calipers for something of better quality?

Thanks in advance.

si_c

Guru
I'm not a fan of single sided calipers personally, but they can be set up to work adequately. Might be worth winding the cable tension up a little bit so they engage faster. Also make sure the inner pad is very close to the rotor so it doesn't need too much movement to press up against it - use the allen bolt on the inside to wind it in, I'd do so until the rotor scrapes the pad and then back it off a bit.